“Transformative”

They say
that moving from one state
to another
is a transformation
In my case
the first state was Massachusetts
and the second, New Hampshire
I could say that move transformed me
but it would be more to the point,
more honest, more true, to say
that the person I moved with,
moved for, transformed me
I was a different man
in that second state
I lost the lines in my forehead
got married in my back yard
to a woman who loved the ocean
and the sound of her typewriter
and those quiet, solitary hours
which brought forth beautiful words
in meaningful combinations
And I discovered something that before
I never believed was true
at least
not for me
I found that love could last. — PL

Leave a Reply

